Kesselschlacht

Addenda as of Aug. 317, 2004

The Counters:

The Counters (Correction): Oops! Cornered tigers can be
tough, but in truth the 503rd Tiger Bn. has a misprint on the
back. It should be 1-1-2 like its sister unit, the 509th (Note: A
corrected counter was provided in issue #4 of ATO).

The Map and Charts:

The Turn Record on the map is correct as regards the
determination of the weather. Disregard the instances in the
note and weather table that contradict it.

The black Axis supply hexes on the map are used for the
ARF Corps HQs to trace supply to similar to 10.2.1.

Delete the word “greater” after 9 on the AACRT. Differences
of 10 or more generate an odds-column shift of 2.

The Rules:

7.0 (Clarification): Garrison units can build defensive posi-
tions. They are restricted to digging within the one hex range
they can trace a POS, however, until they are reassigned to a
Corps HQ. In that case the garrison unit can then follow the
regular rules.

9.1 (Clarification) The Soviet HQ Activation and Soviet com-
bat unit eligibility to move relationship could have been clear-
er: To summarize, Soviet combat units eligible to move are:
1.) Those combat units within corps or armies whose parent
HQ unit has been successfully activated.

2.) Those combat units within corps or armies whose parent
HQ unit could not activate because of the 6 MP range re-
striction. In this case, those wayward combat units may
move, but only back towards their parent HQ.

3.) Combat units under the command of HQs that are eligible
to activate but fail must just sit there.

10.5 (Clarification): The text on the Sequence of Play sum-
mary sheet is somewhat misleading for Axis Movement
Phases J and L. The rules in Section 10.5 are correct. Axis
motorized units must expend FP to move, even 1 or 2 MPs. If
the FP are actually available at their Corps HQ and they can
trace a POS back to their Corps HQ (No “crawling” west for
free if fuel is really available). Only if there are no FPs avail-
able, or if the Axis motorized units are really OoS may they
invoke the free move of 2 MPs.

10.5.4 (Clarification): German motorized units that are OOS
or whose HQ is out of FPs can still move during the German
Motorized Movement Phase but only up to 2 MPs. But re-
member, if there are FPs available at your HQ, and you can
trace a valid POS to the HQ, you must burn the FPs in order
to move.

13.1.2 (Addition): Presently, 1st Pz. Army HQ does nothing
but consume valuable fuel resources, still worth an extra 2 or

4 VPs as a motorized HQ for victory determination purposes
at the end of the game. To make it's role more meaningful, if
1st Pz. Army HQ is eliminated in combat, it remains out of
play for 1 turn and then is replaced atop any friendly Corps
HQ (if eliminated in Phase I. of Turn 3, it returns at the start of
Turn 5). No Axis air missions of any sort can be flown on
behalf of 1st Panzer Army units while the 1st Panzer Army
HQ is absent from the map (no supply runs or drops, no
bombing or support missions). Air superiority missions can
still be flown.

17.0.1 (Correction): The three towns named in Case 17.0.1,
sub-cases 2 and 3 should be Stanislau (0416), Berezhany
(0806) and Munastrika (1214). Why these? Note these are
the last serious towns that are both west of the Strypa River
and on the various key rail lines.

18.0 Set-Up (Clarification): Soviet units are not allowed to set-
up behind the Axis frontline as defined by the Axis set-ups.
For example, in Scenario 18.2 the Soviets may not set up in
hex 5122 even though it is within 1 hex of the specified start
hex of 5222 because they are not allowed to set up “behind”
the Axis unit in 5221 (this is true anywhere else along the
front).

18.1 The following cities begin the scenario under Soviet
control, and the VP tallied to the Soviet player:
Proskurov (4206)
Chenovtsy (2531)

18.2 (Correction): There are two infantry divisions missing
from the 1st Guards Army set-up. Place these two infantry
divisions on the 1st Guards Army HQ. The over-stack with the
artillery division is OK for this initial set-up.

New Optional Rules:

19.4 Variable Soviet Activations. Each turn the Soviet
player rolls a die to determine if additional formations to those
allowed per 9.1.1 and 9.1.2 can activate. Add one to the DR
if the Soviet player has won Air Initiative this turn, subtract
one from the DR is the German player has won Air Initiative.

DR = 1 or less. No additional formations can be activated.
DR = 2-4. One additional Soviet Corp can attempt activation.
DR = 5. Two additional Soviet Corps can attempt activation.
DR = 6+. Either two additional Soviet Corps or one Army can
attempt activation.

19.4.1 Defending Formations: Soviet units that are attacked
by Axis units will give the superior Soviet HQ a free activation
attempt in the upcoming turn. This activation attempt does
NOT count against the activation limits in cases 9.1.2 and
9.1.3.

19.4.2 STAVKA Directs! Once the Zhukov Directive has
been put into effect (Rule 8.0) the Soviet player rolls a die at



the beginning of the Soviet HQ Activation Phase to determine
if STAVKA also becomes involved in directing the campaign.
Add 1 to the DR if the Soviet player is trailing in the VP tally.
Subtract 1 from the DR if the German player has lost more
combat units than the Soviet player (if both apply the DRs off-
set).

DR of 6 or more one Soviet Army automatically activates (no
activation DR is needed).

DR of 4 or 5 one Soviet Corp automatically activates (no
activation DR is needed).

DR or 3 or less, no effect.
Note: The Corps or Army that is activated per STAVKA does
count against the total number of formations the Soviet player
can activate for the turn. Use the Zhukov Marker to indicate
the affected Soviet formation.

19.5 German TQR Rating Reduction. German TQR ratings
are reduced in a combat phase by one level whenever the
following apply:

On turns the Soviet Player has won the Air Initiative and
there is a Soviet F or FB in the same area as the defending
unit.

On all Heavy Snow turns.

On Mud turns roll a die before calculating combat. With an
even DR the TQR rating for any German unit involved in the
combat is reduced by one level. An odd DR means the TQR
rating is unaffected.

When lowering a TQR A becomes B, B to C, C remains
unchanged. A unit's TQR rating can never be reduced below

C, nor lowered more than one level regardless of the number 2)

of conditions that may be in effect. The lowering of a unit’s
TQR is in effect during the entire combat phase, i.e., for
retreat (Section 13.2) and Advance after Combat (Case
13.4.2).

19.6 Soviet TQR Enhancement. This rule may only be used
if the Optional Rule STAVKA Directs! is in play (19.4.2). For
any formation that is activated per STAVKA all of its
subordinate units have their TQRs increased by one level; C
becomes B, B becomes A. A level units are unaffected. The
raising of a unit's TQR per STAVA is in effect during the
entire combat phase and turn, i.e., for retreat (Section 13.2)
and Advance After Combat (Case 13.4.2).

Note: Optional rules 19.4, 19.5 and 19.6 are pro-Soviet.

Kesselschlacht: Air unit placement

Here’s a solitaire Soviet air unit placement scheme to help
you out. First roll one die to determine in which Air Sectors
the majority of Soviet air activity is taking place this turn.

DR Sectors Contested
13, 14, 15, 18, 22, 23, 24
7,11,12,14, 18, 19, 21
7,9,10, 12,13, 22
,9,11,16, 19, 20
6, 8,9, 13,15, 19
4,10, 13, 14, 18, 20
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Then roll two dice for each Air Sector to determine what
shows up there. Keep rolling and placing until you exhaust
the available Soviet air unit counter-mix (or take as many as
possible from what is available).

DR Air Units Received

2 4FB, 1F

3 5B, 1F

4 1FB, 1F

5 Pick another adjacent Air Sector with the most Axis
units in it, then re-roll.
6 1B, 1F

7 1B, 2FB, 1F
8 1B, 1FB, 1F
9 2B, 2F

10 3B, 2FB

11 5B, 2F

12 3B, 4FB, 6F
Naturally, deploy all Axis air units first before rolling.

Alternative Soviet Air Unit Solitaire Deployment: Do not
roll for Air Sector determination in Part | above. Instead,
during the Air Initiative Phase the player determines those
Soviet HQs that will roll for activation (don’t roll for activation
yet, do this normally in Step G).
Note: Don’t forget to include any formations eligible for
activation per 19.4.1. For each of these HQ’s roll for the
number of air units that are allocated to them per Step I
above. The air units will be deployed on the Air Sector the HQ
is located if it is a Corp. If the HQ is an Army HQ the air units
may also be deployed to an air sector to the west of the one
the HQ is located. The order of air unit allocation is as
follows:

STAVKA Directs! formation (Case 19.4.2)

Army HQ

Corp HQs
Note: There may be occasions that Soviet air units are not
deployed for the turn due to poor DR results. This is war!
Deal with it!



