
Four Roads to Moscow 
Consolidated Addenda as of Jan. 1, 2024 

 

Codeword: Barbarossa 
 
The Rules:  
4.7.2 Baltic States (correction): Second last line should say 
“Turn 4” instead of “Turn 8”. 
9.2 German Set Up (correction): There should be 4 Armor 
Corps in the Force Pool. 
 
The PAC: 
BRP/Action Costs Table 
Construct Fortified Zone (correction): Change the text of 
the Notes section to state: 
First Turn: Place the Fortified marker build side up in the 
area. 
Second Turn: Flip the Fortified marker onto its fortification 
side. 
Dismantle Fortified Zone (correction): This should be a 1 
BRP cost. 
VP Scoring Sheet 
Download an updated version of this sheet at: 
www.atomagazine.com/extras/CB_Update_VP_Scoring.pdf 
 
The Cards: 
(Corrections): All references to “Imminent War” should be 
“Verge of War” and “Rising Tension” should be “Tense”. 

 
Slaughterhouse 
 
The Rules: 
4.4.1 Leaders (omission): Only one General Tyulenev or 
Hoth can ever be on the board. If due to flipping a leader, 
there are now two of either on the board, the other Leader 
counter with same Leader must be flipped as well. 
 
5.1.1 (correction): Add Kalinin and Kursk to the list of Con-
trol/VP markers in the fourth sentence. 
 
5.2.1 German Setup (clarification): Set up all German 
Leaders asterisk side up. 
 
5.2.2 Soviet Setup (correction): “Soroki” should be “Balta”. 
 
8.1.1 Assault Impulses (clarification): For an Assault Im-
pulse, you can only activate ONE Area or zone (on all the 
map) to attack (exceptions: see Sections 11.1 Combined 
Operations and 18.2 Turn 1 Special Rules). 
 
9.2 Movement Factor Cost, Second Bullet (clarification): 
“All MP” means exactly that. If a unit has only 1 MP, it costs it 
1 MP. Armor would spend their 2 MPs to enter. 
 
10.6.1 Counter Attack (correction): Use the following text 
instead of what’s printed: “In a Counter-Attack the Attack 
Value is the current Counter-Attack value of any one unit (a 
unit reduced in the initial combat uses its reduced side value), 
plus the Combat Rating of the Leader marker with the same 
Command ID (if available). There is no DV used in a Counter-
Attack. Once the original Defender has Counter-Attacked the 
Impulse is over. The original Attacker may not Counter-Attack 
after the Defender’s Counter-Attack.” 

12.3.5 (clarification): Add to the end of the sentence "that is in 
supply (to a Soviet zone)" 
 
17.1 Partisans (clarification): These do not count for 
stacking. 
 
17.2 Security Units (clarification): Also do not count for 
stacking. Remove them from the map when alone in an area 
that is entered by a Soviet Army/Front unit via regular or 
assault movement. 
 
21.2.2 Barbarossa II, Soviet Set up-- Kursk (correction): 
Minsk Front should be Vitebsk Army. 
 
21.3.1 Soviet Winter Offensive Setup – German (omission): 
Both Rumanian Armies set up with their respective Leaders. 
 Kalinin (omission): add 3rd Panzer Army + Rienhardt 

 
21.3.2 Soviet Winter Offensive Setup: 
 Moscow (correction): Delete Yeremenko from the list. 
 Soviet, Eliminated Box (correction): Minsk Army should 

be Vitebsk Army. 
 Kalinin (deletion): Kalinin Front + Konev 
 Kolomna (addition): Kalinin Front + Konev 

 
 
Hitler Turns East 
(items in blue below were fixed in 2nd printing) 
 
 
The Rules: 
 
5.2.1 Soviet Reinforcement/Replacements (clarification): 
The Soviets do not need an Automatic Victory City to be 
Russian controlled to place units there, it just must be able to 
trace a LOC to the East map edge. Otherwise simply place 
Soviet units in a controlled town or city hex (which could also 
be a controlled Automatic Victory City). Note that the Soviet 
player must have eliminated units able to be used for the 
replacement points. 
 
5.2.8 Soviet Replacement Armies (rewrite): Starting turn 3, 
the Soviets get replacement Armies. Located in the brown 
section of the Turn Record Chart are printed Minimum (top 
number) and Maximum (lower number) values for these. When 
the German player captures a VP location for the first time, the 
Soviet player will take one of his eliminated Armies from the 
dead pool and place it on a future turn box that can accept it. 
The number of armies that a turn box can accept is the 
Minimum number in that turn box. Once filled, you continue 
placing armies in the next turn box (to its Minimum value) and 
onwards until the last turn box.  Once all turn boxes are filled to 
their Minimums, no further units will be placed into them. When 
you arrive during the game to a turn that shows replacements 
are to be received, you will then look at the Maximum value. 
This is the total number of replacement armies that will be 
received this turn. Choose additional armies from the dead pool 
to increase the amount to be received to the Maximum value 
from those already there (Minimum) 
  



Example 1: It is Turn 2. The German player captures 3 
Soviet-controlled Victory cities. The Soviet player places 2 
eliminated Soviet Armies (if available) onto the Turn 3 box for 
the first and second city as the German captures them. When 
the third city is captured, since the Turn 3 box already has its 
Minimum value of replacements, the next replacement is 
placed in the Turn 4 box. During the Soviet Reinforcement/ 
Replacement Phase of Turn 3, the Soviet player chooses 2 
other eliminated armies (if available), takes the two armies on 
the Turn 3 box, and places them into the Front boxes of his 
choice (thus placing up to 4 replacements onto the board).  
 
Example 2: It is Turn 4: There are already 2 replacement 
units in the Turn box (from units eliminated on Turns 1 and 2). 
There are 5 Army units in the eliminated pool. The Soviet 
player therefore can take 2 of those units from the eliminated 
pool and have them enter as replacement reinforcements (for 
a total of 4 units returning - the maximum) on Turn 4. 
 
Note: Soviet Armies that begin with a Combat Factor of 3 or 
more have only one step, and once eliminated they may only 
be replaced as normal 2 Combat Factor armies (their flip 
side). This is noted by the “e” above their front side step bar 
of their counter. 
 
7.2.2 Withdraw (clarification): A unit must start its move-
ment in an enemy ZOC in order to be able to move to another 
hex in an enemy ZOC. The wording in this rule indicates that 
if a unit starts in a ZOC and it can only move to another ZOC 
hex in the direction of withdrawal, normally this move is not 
permitted, but with this order in effect, the unit can do so. 
 
7.3.5 Counterattacks (clarification): To calculate the odds, 
tally up the total combat factors of all attacking Soviet units 
versus the total combat factors of all defending German units. 
Treat odds of worse than 1:2 as 1:2. If all the Soviet units 
managed to disengage or are dead, or have no combat fact-
ors at all, there is no Counterattack. Note that the lack of a 
LOC does not prevent a Soviet unit from moving to make 
contact when a Counterattack is launched (only already being 
in contact does) but units with no LOC cannot contribute to 
the subsequent attack. 
 
9.2.1 (clarification): The wording "plus one hex beyond" in 
this sentence means is that the LOC can pass through hexes 
that are the hexes just past the boundary line of the Army 
group (in the adjacent Army Group’s Area). 
 
10.1.11 Leningrad Supply (correction): The hex number 
should be 2100, not 2106. 
 
10.1.2 (clarification): For units to be in supply there can be 4 
hexes maximum between the city/town and the unit. Do not 
count the hexes the unit and city/town are in. 
 
12.2.1 Determine Strengths (insert): Change the third sen-
tence to say, “Find the final adjusted ratio column (after all 
shifts) on the…" 
 
12.3.5 (clarification): Units eliminated during combat also 
check. 
 
13.3 Garrisons (change): There is only one garrison avail-
able per German Army. Place Garrisons during the German 
Reinforcement Phase of a turn in the town/city/fort/oil hex in 

which the Army they belong to are located. If eliminated, Gar-
risons may be return to play by expenditure of 1 Replacement 
Step. Garrisons add nothing to the defense of a hex. They only 
fight when alone in a hex (so don’t stack with a garrison). 
 
13.4.7 (addition): German Leaders may not stack together. 
 
13.6.1 (clarification): The Partisan unit must be placed in the 
NW Front area on its turn of entry (Turn 7), It can be placed in 
any Front area on later turns. 
 
13.7 Soviet Black Sea Capabilities (clarification): The Sov-
iet player can attempt (successful or not) 2 Black Sea Invas-
ions during a particular game if you meet any required condi-
tions prior to starting each invasion individually. 
 
 
The Counters (corrections): 
 German 6th Army: Should have a setup hex of 1109. 
 German 17th Army: Should have a setup hex of 1011. 
 German 18th Army: Should have a setup hex of 1104. 
 Order Markers: All “Hold /Attack” markers should be 

“Hold/ATC” (Hold/Advance to Contact) as in the rules. 
 
 
The Charts: 
Combat Results Table (correction): Stacking Points means 
Steps. 
 
TEC River Entry (clarification): To receive the 1L shift, all 
attacking units must be attacking across a river. 
 
The Map: 
(Correction): The hex just south of Moscow should be hex 
2506, not 2406. 
 
 
 
Strike the Bear 
 
The Rules: 
6.3.2 (correction): “armor silhouette picture” should be “armor 
or mechanized NATO symbol”. 
 
6.3.3 Example (correction): Delete the sentence “Note: RA 
cannot enter diamonds 1 or 2, since Leaders are barred from 
entering diamonds.” This is from an earlier set of the rules. 
 
6.4.6 (correction): Ignore rule as written, Instead use: “If an 
enemy combat unit enters an area with a truck unit, withdraw 
the truck unit 2 oxes towards its supply source.” 
 
6.3.4 (deletion): Ignore this rule. It is from an earlier playtest 
version. 
 
9.0 Luftwaffe (clarification): The first number on the counter 
is the Luftwaffe Combat Rating and the second number is its 
Movement Allowance. 
 
9.2.3, First line (clarification/addition): Add “per area” after 
“unit” and before “may”. 
 
11.4.1 (addition): Only the single most advantageous terrain in 
the defender’s area is used to modify the combat. 



11.4.2 Rivers (clarification): Rivers that run from one Oxe 
side into an Ocean/Lake which encompass another Oxe con-
fer this terrain modifier. 
 
11.8.2b (clarification): Leader’s left-most value is the Leader 
Support Value. 
 
11.8.3 Leader Loss (clarification): Anytime that an enemy 
unit moves/advances into an area with only a Leader in it, 
make a roll on the Leader Loss Table for that Leader and 
apply the result. 
 
11.9.5 (addition): An attacking player must pay the full OP 
points for each unit that advances due to a DW result. Lead-
ers, Luftwaffe and Trucks do not advance after combat. 
 
11.9.6 (addition): Trucks will retreat with friendly units when 
they retreat. If all friendly units are eliminated in a truck’s 
area, the truck is retreated 2 areas to a friendly or unoccupied 
area closer to its supply source and then becomes disrupted. 
 
12.5 (correction): The Germans have a required minimum of 
13 Corps in the Breakdown and/or Eliminated box. 
 
14.1 Russian Set Up (omission): MC unit should be in E3 
(Riga). 
 
14.1 Russian Turn 2 Reinforcements (correction): Delete 
Commissar from the list. 
 
14.2 German Set Up (correction): There are “2x” Luftwaffe 
units that start the game. 
 
German Breakdown Box (correction): There is only one (1) 
5-3-2 Armor unit in the breakdown box. 
 
14.2 German Set Up (correction): There are “2x” Luftwaffe 
units that start the game. 
 
German Breakdown Box (correction): There is only one (1) 
5-3-2 Armor unit in the breakdown box. 
 

The Counters: 
(Correction): 11th Rumanian Army should be German 11th 
Army. 
 
 
The PACs: 
(Omission): The Commissar Placement Table is missing: 
 

Commissar Placement Table (7.1) 
Die 
Roll 

Oxe 
Column 

Dice 
Roll 

Oxe 
Row 

1 A or C 2 1 
2 E 3 2 
3 G 4 3 
4 I 5 4 
5 K 6 5 
6 M or O 7 6 
  8 7 
  9 8 
  10 9 
  11 10 
  12 11 

 
Redeployment Table (clarification): “G” means German and 
“R” means Russian. 
 
Combat Results Table, Combat Results (addition): “Note:  
Owning player always allocates losses” 
 
Combat Results Table, Combat Results, DW result 
(addition): Leaders do not withdraw (If the opponent advances 
into their area, owning player must make a Leader Loss test).” 
 


