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Imperial Sunset 
Addenda as of Aug. 15th 2022 

The Rules: 
2.3.4 Rounding Convention (new): When directed to half a 
quantity in the game drop any fraction, but never less than 1. 
 
5.3 USN TF Limits (correction): There are eight (not nine) Active 
USN TF at the start of the game. Ignore the reference to TG 38.1 
(this is a reinforcement and does not start the game in play). 
 
5.3 US Activation Markers (new): See next page below for an 
“unofficial” variant for the USN and IJN Activation markers. 
 
6.2.3 (Additional Optional Rule): Do not count Fighter units that 
participate in an attack on a TF as part of the 4 air units that 
impose the -1 Movement penalty if the fighters were engaged by 
friendly CAP. 
 
6.5.3 USN Aircraft Exhaustion (correction): delete the first sen-
tence in this rule. 
 
6.5.4 CAP (clarification): Air units on CAP are flipped to their 
Exhausted side (not placed in an Exhausted space/box as men-
tioned in the rule). 
 
6.5.9 Japanese Air Fleets (correction): The rule should read 
north (not west) of the 2500 hex row. The legend and Japanese 
Air Fleet indicators are correct as depicted on the map. 
 
7.2 IJN Detection (clarification): A DR result of 1-4 on the IJN 
Detection Results table is treated as No Detection vs. an already 
Detected TF. With such a result the already detected TF becomes 
undetected. 
 
Sample Naval Unit and 8.0 (clarification): The Protection Factor 
(PF) of a ship or group of ships indicates how many hits it/they 
can absorb before being sunk. The number of hits inflicted is 
tracked on the Damage Logs of both sides. The PF has nothing to 
do with the adjudication of any type of combat. 
 
8.3, second paragraph, second sentence (correction): Change 
beginning of sentence to read “All ships from the active TF and all 
ships of one detected enemy TF (active player's choice) in the 
same hex are....." 
 
8.3.1 Deployment for Surface Combat (clarification): US units 
are turned face-up (unfired) after the Japanese ships are deploy-
ed and before the first battle round is played. 
 
8.3.2 Movement Segment (correction): Rotate units 90 or 180 
degrees to keep track of what ships have moved. Despite what 
the rule says there are no “Moved” markers (a holdover from 
playtesting that made it past editing). 
 
8.3.3 Gunnery Segment (correction): Flip ship units over to their 
Fired Mode side to indicate the unit has fired. Despite what the 
rule says, there are no “Fired” markers (another playtesting hold-
over). 
 
8.3.6 Torpedo Combat Segment (correction): The last line of the 
rule segment “IJN units” should read “Subtract 1 from the die for 
each area beyond six” (not seven). 
 
10.2 Submarine Deployment (1st paragraph change): Place all 
of the Submarine Detection markers inverted on a flat surface, 
shuffle them around and then randomly draw the number equal to 
the DR result determined in Section 10.1. Players alternate 

placing the available markers. Make a DR for each marker drawn 
to determine its placement restrictions per the results described 
below. These markers are placed unknown (do not look at the 
reverse side) as per 10.2. Obviously, if the Japanese player 
draws a US submarine marker (or vice-versa) then that player will 
place it on the map per the 10.2 CR check in a position most 
advantageous to the player that drew it. This simulates the lack of 
perfect control the real life commanders faced. 
  
10.4 Japanese Submarine Attack (correction): The Japanese 
player’s DR modifier is -1 (not -2). 
 
11.2 PT Boats (correction): The hex reference for the set-up of 
the PT Boat unit should be 3521 (not 3308). 
 
12.1 Japanese VP Awards (clarification): A damaged ship for a 
VP award is defined as one with at least 50% of its hits marked 
off the damage roster. 
 
13.1.1 Japanese Set Up (corrections): Japanese TF set up as 
follows (the hex numbers are from the playtest, and not the final, 
version of the map. For some reason the final edits didn’t make it 
to the printers): Force A in 3009, Force B in 3009, Force C in 
4010, Shima Force in 3410, Reinforcement Force in 2612, 
Transport Group in 4120, Destroyer Div 21 in 2612. 
 
13.1.2 Japanese Reinforcements (correction): The Ozawa TF 
enters between hexes 1015 and 1028 (inclusive), not 1023-1030. 
 
13.3.1 Japanese Set Up (correction): There are six (not seven) 
Japanese F units in the Second Air Fleet. Three (not four) begin 
in the Ready Box of the Second Air Fleet. 
 
13.3.4 US Reinforcement (correction): US TG 38.1 enters on 
turn 14 (not turn 10). 
 
The Player’s Aid Charts: 
 
Surface Combat (change): Alter the beginning of the first sen-
tence to read: "All ships from the active TF and all ships of one 
detected enemy TF (active player's choice) in the same hex 
are....." 
 
The Map: 
Shoals (clarification): Shoals along a hex side will block move-
ment. For example, movement from 3722 to 3723 is not allowed. 
 
The Counters: 
 
The following USN units have some minor spelling issues: 

• St. Lo (not St. Louis) 
• Gambier (not Gambler) Bay 
• Intrepid (not Entrepid) 
• Clarification: BB Dakota is the South Dakota 

 
The following counters have incorrect factors: 

• CVL Ryuho MF is 3/4 (not 4/5) 
• BB Haruna, fired side, MF should be 3/4 (not 4/6) 
• USN CVE units Taffy 1/ 2, 2/2, 3/2, fired side, MF should 

be 2/3 (not 3/4). 
 
The Ship Damage Logs: 
 
Both the IJN and USN damage logs have goofs on them. Down-
load corrected copies off the header area for Imperial Sunset on 
Consimworld or off the Imperial Sunset page on our website here: 
http://www.atomagazine.com/Details.cfm?ProdID=49 

http://www.atomagazine.com/Details.cfm?ProdID=49
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More Imperial Sunset Ideas 
 
14.7 Damage Control Rule (un-official variant): The following 
rule adds another degree of realism to the game, but does slightly 
increase the “wristage factor.” 
 
Any time one or more hits are scored on the Damage Table the 
owning player rolls a die. Add 1 to the DR for each of the 
following (use all that apply): 
• Damage resulted from a Kamikaze attack. 
• Damage resulted to a carrier (any type) from any air unit 

attack (in addition to the DRM for Kamikaze if applicable). 
• Damage resulted to a Destroyer or Cruiser (any type) from a 

torpedo or submarine attack (not from PT boat attack). 
• Damage results from any battleship attack upon any other 

non-battleship type naval unit. 
• Damage resulted from attacks by the Battleships Yamato or 

Musashi. 
• Damage resulted from hit by an enemy naval unit 6 to 10 

columns away on the Naval Battle Board. Note: +2 to the DR 
if damage resulted from hit by an enemy naval unit 5 or less 
columns away on the Naval Battle Board. 

 
Note: The above DRMs are the subject for play testing and may 
be modified/discarded before becoming “official.” 
 
Compare the modified DR to the ship’s Protection Factor (PF):  
• Modified DR < half of the ship’s PF (round up if a fraction). 

Any and all hits from the attack have no effect and are NOT 
marked off of the ship’s damage log. 

• Modified DR greater than half and less than the ship’s PF. 
One hit is applied (any others are ignored) and marked off of 
the ship’s damage log. 

• Modified DR is > ship’s PF but less than or equal to 10. All 
hits are applied and marked off of the ship’s damage log. 

• Modified DR is more than 10 and the ship’s PF (Note: The 
DR must be 3 or more higher than the PF for a BB in the 
latter case, otherwise treat as the result immediately above). 
Catastrophic damage. Half of the ship’s remaining spaces on 
its damage log are marked off (round any fraction up).  

14.8 Bonus Activations: Both players can activate units more 
than once in a turn with the USN and IJN Activation Markers 
(AM). Use of this variant rule supersedes Section 4.3. 
 
14.8.1 USN AM: The US player adds the USN AM to the opaque 
container during the Initial Phase, but only on turns only after the 
Ozawa TF is first spotted and/or the Wild Bull Table results of DR 
1 through 8 have been met (if the Wild Bull Table is in play).  
 
When the USN AM is drawn any one US TF, or US ships in one 
map hex, may conduct a “bonus” move (and then conduct combat 
if able to do so). The USN AM is not counted (ignored) if it is the 
FIRST or LAST AM for either side drawn for the turn (i.e., it has 
no effect before or after any/all other AM are selected).  
 
14.8.2 IJN AM: The Japanese player adds the IJN AM to the 
opaque container during the Initial Phase on turns the IJN Fana-
ticism Rule is in effect (Case 13.1.5.2). The IJN AM allows a TF to 
perform a “bonus” move (and then conduct surface combat if able 
to do so). The only TF that may activate are ones that have at 
least one BB or CA unit. Individual Japanese ships, and any TF 
with a CV or CVL, may not activate with the IJN AM.  
 
The IJN AM is removed from play once the provisions of Case 
13.1.5.2 are no longer in effect. Unlike the US AM, the IJN AM is 
not ignored if it is the first or last AM drawn for the turn while it is 
in play (as is the case with the USN AM). 
 


