
 
North Wind Rain 

Addenda as of May 25th, 2016 
 
Note: Material in blue type below was incorporated into the 
second printing of the game (copyright 2007 edition). Newer 
addenda since then is in black. 
 
The Map 
• Hexside 6324/6225 is a river hexside. 
• The Soviet fortification in hex 6027 extends to the coast in 

hexside 6027/6028. 
• Remove the two bridges connecting hexside 4503 to 4404 

and 4504 respectively. They do not exist (even to this day)! 
• For scenario 13.1, the rail line extending north from 

Nencheng (hex 4108) should end in hex 4205. The rail line 
exists all the way to the river in Scenario 13.2. 

 
The Counters 
• The 7th Mongolian mechanized brigade is incorrectly 

depicted as a division on the counter. 
• The 6th Rifle Brigade is incorrectly marked as a division on 

the counter. 
• The counters for the 29th and 30th Soviet Rifle Brigades 

are missing. Use the “A” and “B” brigades from the 1941 
scenario when called for instead. 

Note: Replacement counters for the above were included in all 
copies of issue #9 of ATO Magazine 
 
The Rules 
Case 2.1.1 (clarification): The following unit types pay motor-
ized movement costs on the TEC: 
- armor  - armored cars  - motorcycles 
- armored infantry - motorized infantry 
Note: HQs and artillery units are NOT considered motorized/ 
mechanized (the vast majority of these pieces are being hauled 
around by horses and mules). 
These units count towards the Armor Superiority DRM: 
- armor  - armored infantry - armored cars 
Optional Rule: Allow cavalry units to conduct Exploitation like 
motorized units (otherwise, never treat cavalry as mechaniz-
ed/motorized in any way). Most of these units are either local 
Mongols (and not really integrated into either sides' command 
structure) or not trained for toe-to-toe battle. 
 
Case 2.2.2 (clarification): Note there are two Cases num-
bered 2.2.1. The second one should be 2.2.2 
 
Case 3.1.4 (clarification): Note there are two Cases num-
bered 3.1.4. The second one concerning retreats is in full 
effect and is considered in conjunction with Case 9.3.1. 
 
Case 3.2.1 (clarification): A stack projects a ZOC into an adja-
cent hex provided it contains at least one division equivalent, 
not including minor allied units, artillery units and HQs. If the 
hex in question is a forest, wooded rough or marsh hex, tank 
and armored car units are not considered for this calculation. 
Also, ZOCs never project across a major river, into an enemy 
heavy fort, mountain or major city hex, or into an ocean hex. 
 
Case 3.2.3 (clarification): Units can move across a major 
river into a hex containing an enemy ZOC if that hex is 
occupied by a friendly unit. 

Case 3.4.4 (addition): Any rail hex outside the USSR or Mon-
golia that has been converted by the Soviet player and is linked 
by rail to a Soviet major city or the north map edge is also a 
valid Soviet supply source. 
 
Case 3.4.5 (addition): Any rail hex outside Manchuria or 
Korea that has been converted by the Japanese player and is 
linked by rail to a major city in Manchuria or the southern map 
edge is also a valid Japanese supply source. 
 
Case 6.2.1 (correction): Delete the last sentence of 6.2.1. 
Players can accumulate replacement steps freely. Note that 
players may not voluntarily destroy units. 
 
Case 6.2.3 (clarification): It costs two RPs initially to replace 
any destroyed unit regardless of size. For example, to bring 
back the REM counter for an eliminated Japanese three step 
division costs two RPs. 
 
Case 7.1.4 (correction): The opening clause in the second 
sentence is wrong, units may cross major rivers by expending 
the MPs listed on the TEC, but the restriction in Case 3.2.3 
against crossing into an enemy ZOC remains. The rest of 7.1.4 
stands. 
 
Case 7.2.3 (addition): For an overrun, the overrunning unit/ 
stack can have as many goes at a given hex as it has move-
ment factors and/or combat factors. Of course, each time an 
overrun is attempted, it must be determined if it was success-
ful. If a successful overrun was conducted and the defender 
remains in the hex, then the overrunning unit/stack returns to 
the original hex adjacent to the defender where it began the 
overrun from. All applicable movement costs must be paid 
again to attempt another overrun. 
 
Case 7.3.3 (additions): A unit using strategic movement may 
move adjacent to an enemy unit at any point in its move so 
long as the enemy unit is not projecting a ZOC. Units conduct-
ing strategic movement may not conduct attacks after the 
move or engage in overruns. Exploiting units may not conduct 
strategic movement either. 
 
Case 7.4.3 (clarification): Artillery units can move by rail. Each 
artillery unit counts as a division for rail capacity purposes, 
regardless of the unit size on the counter. 
 
Case 7.4.4 (clarification): Units in the Trans-Siberian off map 
zone do count towards the divisional equivalents that the 
Soviets can move by rail in a turn. Units may not stay in the 
zone so as not to count towards the rail capacity (i.e., there is 
no detraining in the off map zone).  
 
Case 7.5.1 (clarification): The two permitted Japanese am-
phibious landings cannot both be conducted on the same 
turn. The earliest time possible for an amphibious operation is 
turn 2 (i.e., plan on turn 1, and then land on turn 2). There are 
no “pre-game” planning turns. Amphibious operations cannot 
be turned into night battles. 
 
Case 7.5.4 (correction and clarification): Any Japanese unit 
on any coastal hex is always in supply. This is true even if a 



unit moves away from the coast and begins tracing supply to a 
normal Japanese supply source and then moves back to a 
coastal hex. 
 
Section 8.2 (clarification): Calculate the odds before apply-
ing shifts, i.e., a 13:1 attack with five shifts left is reduced to an 
8:1 attack. 
 
Case 8.8.1 (clarification): All attacking units must be attacking 
across a major or minor river hexside for the defender to re-
ceive the combat benefit. 
 
Case 8.9.4 (clarifications): This shift only applies to units de-
fending their own fortification. Attacking units that occupy a 
fortification hex are not subject to this shift. Keep in mind (per 
the TEC) that once a fortification is occupied by an enemy unit, 
it ceases to give any combat or movement effects. Concentric 
attacks against units in all around forts also get the +1 DRM 
modifier of 8.9.3. 
 
Case 9.9.1 (example): For example, a defender forced to suf-
fer a 2(1) result in a heavy fortified line becomes a 1(0) result – 
i.e., the CRN is reduced by one, but is the mandatory loss also 
reduced by one. 
 
Case 9.4.2 (addition): This rule is also used if the attacking 
force cannot fulfill its CRN and the defending force has the 
motorized units. 
 
Case 12.1.1 (addition): Both sides can now build a rail bridge 
over the two hexsides from 4503. Of course, in the 1941 scen-
ario, only the hexside 4503/4504 will matter. This is done per 
Case 12.1.1 and with the addition that it takes two turns to 
complete a bridge (not the one as in 12.1.1). Once complete, 
rail hex conversion can take place per Case 7.4.5. 
 
Section 12.3 (clarification): Artillery units always add their 
defense combat factor of (1) to the total defensive strength in 
the hex if that hex comes under attack. An artillery unit in a hex 
that is attacked must contribute all its shifts to that hex as well. 
 
Case 12.3.2 (clarification): Artillery providing defensive sup-
port is not required to be adjacent to the defender, unlike being 
required to be adjacent to attacking forces when providing of-
fensive support, but the defender’s hex must be with 2 hexes of 
the artillery unit. (Note: In actuality, this is not an artillery range 
issue, but rather represents the ability of the defender to shift 
assets to support defending units within a given area.) 
 
Case 12.4.3 (clarification): Only one minor Allied unit per side 
may be replaced in a game. 
 
Case 12.4.4 (correction): The die roll modification in this case 
is –2, not +2. 
 
Victory Points (clarification): Eliminated Minor Allied Units on 
both sides do not count for victory point awards, only destroyed 
Soviet or Japanese units. Neither side gets VPs for HQs or ar-
tillery units destroyed. 
 
Section 13.1 1941 Scenario (corrections): 
1.) Of the starting Soviet Rifle Divisions, the 239th, 413th and 
415th divisions use their 5-5-5 strengths (these units have no 
8-8-5 version). 
2.) The Soviet 25th Motorcycle Regiment listed should be the 
29th. 

3.) The Soviet Cavalry Divisions indicated as setting up west 
of hex-row 2600 (the 5th, 6th, 7th, and 8th) are actually 
Mongolian units. The Soviet 7th Cavalry Division is not 
deployed in this scenario. 
4.) The Soviet 117th Rifle Division is listed but it should be the 
103rd. 
5.) Soviet Unconditional Reinforcements: Add the 34th Rifle 
Brigade as a turn four reinforcement. All units scheduled to 
appear on turn four (except the 209th and 210th Rifle Divi-
sions) appear in any Soviet major, minor, or reference city east 
of hexrow 4400, distributed evenly amongst all of these 
friendly-held cities. The 209th and 210th Rifle Divisions appear 
on Borzya; if this hex is enemy occupied, they appear in hex 
1001. If hex 1001 is occupied, they do not arrive during the 
game at all. 
6.) Soviet Conditional Reinforcements: If Vladivostok is enemy-
occupied, the Soviet player loses his opportunity to roll for con-
ditional reinforcements or convert his Sea Interdiction capability 
into additional units. 
7.) If a unit scheduled to be withdrawn is destroyed ahead of 
time, it can be rebuilt and then railed off. A withdrawn unit, 
even if reduced strength, is still worth the full VPs.  
8.) The Japanese infantry groups listed are actually artillery 
groups. 
9.) Japanese engineer groups: There are only four (the 1st 
through 4th), not the seven as indicated. 
10.) While Soviet units cannot attack Turn 1 or cross the bor-
der, they defend normally if attacked. 
11.) Any Soviet unit that exits the board other than by the 
Soviet rail system is considered destroyed.  
 
Section 13.2 1942 Scenario (corrections): 
1.) The Soviet 25th Motorcycle Regiment listed should be the 
29th. 
2.) Delete the reference to the Soviet 26th Rifle Division. 
3.) Use the Soviet “A” and “B” Rifle Brigades from the 1941 
scenario instead of the 29th and 30th Soviet Rifle Brigades 
called for. 
4.) Soviet Reinforcements: Both units appear in any major, 
minor, or reference city east of hexrow 4400. Disregard para-
graph on Soviet conditional reinforcements. Soviets receive 
only unconditional reinforcements in this scenario. 
5.) Japanese Independent Guard Units: Use units 1 through 9, 
not just 1 through 5. 
6.) The Japanese infantry groups listed are actually artillery 
groups. 
7.) Japanese engineer groups: There are only four (the 1st 
through 4th), not the seven as indicated. 
8.) While Soviet units cannot attack Turn 1 or cross the border, 
they defend normally if attacked. 
9.) Any Soviet unit that exits the board other than by the Soviet 
rail system is considered destroyed. 


